Things I’ve learned: Definition of Ramble

I don’t mind wandering. I feel like I spend a lot of my life wandering.  I feel like I’m always randomly walking around new neighborhoods, new countries, and new hometowns. I spent much of my life unsure of why people need travel guides or scripted lessons. I don’t take pictures of people or places because I don’t want to stop the flow of a moment, conversation, or experience.  Five year plans frighten me.  Heck, five month plans make me nervous. I’m not lazy by any means, but I don’t always have goals. I’m challenged daily by my life and I appreciate all of the opportunities I have been afforded. Miraculously, my lack of direction has lead me almost exactly where I want to be.

I’m not sure the point of this blog yet. That’s why I’ve put off starting one. I know I should plan my message and to tailor it for an audience.  That’s not going to work for me. I’ll never start if I try to do that. I’ve read other blogs of people who know a lot more than me.  Annoyingly, those same people can also write with more style and eloquence than me. So the fact I’m not sure where I’m going makes me more nervous than I thought it would.

To see if you want to wander with me, here’s what I am imagining. I want this to be a place where I reflect on what I’m learning. So you know, some things I like to learn about: teaching, technology, beer, travel, geography, funky maps, what kids are thinking, how to help kids learn, education reform, good food, challenges of international schools, Third Culture Kids, Apple products, MYP, history, museums, collecting stuff, Theory of Knowledge, reading, and writing lessons. I hope to share resources, lessons that work for me, and mistakes I have made.

One of the things I like best about walking with a friend is the pace lets you talk about everything and anything. You learn about each other. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that a “ramble” can be an aimless discussion or a casual walk. The definition of ramble I learned today is,  “to follow an irregularly winding course of motion or growth.”  I love that.

I’m going to see where this goes. I’m going on a ramble. Want to come with me?

About Rebekah Madrid

MYP Humanities Instructor. International School Teacher in Japan. Google Certified Teacher. Apple Distinguished Educator. National Board Certified Teacher. Traveler & TV Watcher. This is where I write my thoughts about all of the above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Things I’ve learned: Definition of Ramble

  1. Kim Cofino says:

    Love it! So excited to see you start blogging! Honestly, I don’t think anyone knows where their blog is going to go when they start. Go back and look at my first post. Yours is waaaaay better, let me tell you.

  2. alexguenther says:

    LET’S GET READY TO RAAAAAMMMMMBLE!!!!!!

  3. I love the idea of a blog as a place to ramble and wander. You mentioned you liked to wander about new cities, streets etc…now this can be the space where you wander about cyber-space and your head and before you know it you will have a small posse occasionally joining yo on your walk.

    Forget about people who know more and write better, those are all just self-imposed judgments you are using as excuses. The best way to blog is to simply write. Write often. Write honestly. Write often. Write with passion. Write often.
    Don’t worry too much about getting it perfect, because you will find that so m,any times giving form to your thoughts it what blogging is all about. So many times it is in the comments where the real thinking takes place. The post is just a seed and if you spend too much getting that perfect you will not plant enough seeds.

    I for one and am always excited when there is a new blogger in our midst. Especially one I have talked to about Cornell West’s coolness.

    I am teaching MYP humanities next year and I think we all of other things in common. Let lose Rebekah and let’s walk together.

    • Jabiz-

      Thanks so much for welcoming to this new world of blogging. I kind of have the same feeling of when I move to a new place and I don’t know what’s going on or what’s going to happen, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be something great. And it is especially wonderful to be welcomed by a friend who knows the ropes. Thanks!

  4. Mags says:

    I’m so glad you’re blogging and rambling 🙂 I’m very curious and excited to follow your adventures and hear how Japan’s been treating you. Keep it up, and maybe one of these days I’ll finally start writing, too ….

Leave a Reply

