See Think Wonder: Digital Literacy and Visible Thinking

Teaching is easy…Learning is Hard.

At Google Teacher Academy, I had the honor of presenting an inspiring idea about how I use technology in the classroom. I really wanted to talk about how I try to get my kids thinking about technology.  And I wanted to show how I tried to help my students to really understand how all the free services the use work. How many times have I taught something by saying “you click this and then you click that” and then I’m surprised that the kids forget it two seconds later. This lesson was one way I hoped to avoid that. So here is my presentation with a little summary of my speaking notes.

Visible Thinking and Digital CitizenshipI wanted my students to think about how GoogleNews works, instead of using the service without being critical consumers.

Google NewsWith my Grade 8 students I used the Visible Thinking Routine: See, Think, Wonder

See, Think, WonderNormally, Visible Thinking Routines are done on paper and post-it notes. I love that my classroom is covered with visual evidence of my students thinking. It’s messy and crazy and fun.

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.54.57 PM

But for looking at GoogleNews, we used Padlet/Wallwisher. If you use the Chrome extension, you get to save all your walls. Which is messy and fun in its own way.

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.55.20 PM

I started by having my students look at a zoomed in image and notice everything they could. (Did you notice I was using Chrome? Or I have two google accounts? My kids did)Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 9.24.41 PM

Here are my Grade 8 See, Think, Wonder Walls. Click on the wall to see the big wall. What I love most about the routine in this context is that by taking the time really look at GoogleNews they could see how it was organized and then they had room to jump into inquiry about how it worked.

 Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.55.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.55.52 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.56.00 PMI think there are dozens of uses for this routine (and the many other Visible Thinking Routine) and digital literacy and digital citizenship.

You could use it to teach Google Advanced Search….

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.56.35 PM

Or have kids think about Facebook privacy settings?

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.56.47 PM

Or how about having kids think about how to use Creative Commons? Or why it’s fair to use Creative Commons?

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.56.56 PM

This is simple way to teach something that is complex and I hope others are able to use it. And huge thanks to everyone for your support for my presentation. It’s a little intimidating talking to such great group of educators and I appreciated all of your good vibes!

Update: I presented as session at California Google Apps for Education Summit entitled  Thinking about Google: Using Visible Thinking Routines. Check it out for other ideas of how to use technology (including Google Cultural Institute and others) to practice Visible Thinking Routines. 

Other related links:

_____________________

About Rebekah Madrid

MYP Humanities Instructor. International School Teacher in Japan. Google Certified Teacher. Apple Distinguished Educator. National Board Certified Teacher. Traveler & TV Watcher. This is where I write my thoughts about all of the above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to See Think Wonder: Digital Literacy and Visible Thinking

  1. Pingback: » @twhitford Take a look @ndbekah ‘s presentation an… Langwitches Twitter Feed

Leave a Reply

